Finding Time to Study for the LSAT as a 43-Year-Old Woman

Karmen Santi
3 min readOct 1, 2023

Being career driven, can be exhausting!

As a 43-year-old woman, I am currently a graduate student at Berklee College of Music, I teach high school for work, and juggling real-life responsibilities with family and friends. I am also preparing to take the Official LSAT test in just three months. Finding time to study for the LSAT has been a challenge, but I have found ways to make it work.

My Personal Struggle

I find it difficult at time to sit and focus on studying for the LSAT. With so many other responsibilities, it’s hard to find the time and energy to study. I have tried to make a schedule, but it’s hard to follow it sometimes, with real life going on around me. I need to study for at least 20 hours a week to get a 175 on the LSAT, but finding those hours has been a challenge.

Breaking Down the Hours

To achieve a score of at least 175 (my goal) on the LSAT, I need to study for at least 20 hours per week for three months. This may seem like a lot, but breaking it down into smaller, more manageable chunks has helped me stay on track. I try to study for at least three hours every day, either in the morning before work or in the evening after my classes.

Making a Plan

I make a plan to study! I can not stress enough, how important it is to MAKE A PLAN TO STUDY! You know the saying by Winston Churchill: “He who fails to plan is planning to fail”.

Now, to make the most of my study time, I have created a plan that works great for me. I use a planner to schedule my study sessions and set goals for each day. I put my phone on silent and turn on “School Focus” mode. I need to be able to study in a quiet, distraction-free environment to help me focus. Sometimes, the outside noise from the world tends to float on in, which can be really distracting. When that happens, I pull up YouTube and put on light jazz for studying music. This helps cancel out the sounds of the outside world, such as dogs barking, cars driving and people talking.

Ways I Stay Sane

To stay sane and not lose my mind, I have found a few other things that work for me.

Take Breaks: I take breaks often to avoid burnout. I go for a walk, listen to music, or do something else that I enjoy such as watch a little ratchet tv. That always puts me in another world outside my studies. Boy do I love ratchet tv, no matter how professional I get. Ratchet tv is so entertaining to me.

Stay Positive: I remind myself that I can do this. I focus on my strengths and try not to get discouraged by my weaknesses.

Get Support: I talk to my family and friends about my goals and ask for their support. They help me stay motivated and keep me accountable.

Studying for the LSAT as a 43-year-old woman with a busy life is not easy, but it’s possible. I have found ways to make it work, and I know that others can too. It’s important to stay positive, take breaks, and get support from family and friends. With hard work and dedication, I know that I can achieve my goals. I take the LSAT in January.

Wish me luck! Lets see if this gets me to my GOAL!

--

--

Karmen Santi

Future Entertainment Lawyer. Current Graduate Student at Berklee College of Music